There are two species of gorillas in the world. These are

  • the Eastern Gorilla and
  • the Western Gorilla

Both species have been divided into two subspecies

  • The Eastern Gorilla is subdivided into; Eastern Lowland Gorillas and the Mountain Gorillas
  • The Western Gorilla is subdivided into; Cross River Gorillas and Western Lowland Gorillas

Though some authors mistakenly categorize gorillas into distinct species according to distribution, .

Learn more about gorillas in Africa